What Alcohol Can I Drink Now That I Am Gluten-Free?

gluten-free beerNow that you are gluten free, you don't have to cut out alcohol. Being gluten free means you are excluding gluten – a starchy protein, from your diet. Gluten is found in wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten has many applications. It is used as a thickening agent. Many cosmetic brands have this substance in their constitution. Confectionery products use gluten to enable them to add artificial coloring and preservatives.

There are many types of alcohol that you can drink when you are on a gluten free diet. But yes, you have to stay away from beers that have been manufactured using barley. There are many rye whiskey brands that you ought to avoid. Male beverages are a complete no-no.

Alcohols that advertise as distilled spirits may contain gluten. Ensure you read the fine print before committing yourself to drinking such distilled spirits.

Hard liquor which is gluten free

Gin, rum, and tequila have a distillation process that completely filters out gluten. This process is followed in the preparation of vodka too. So it can be conclusively said that these types of hard liquors are completely devoid of gluten.

If you love Scotch whisky, you can continue to love it. Because Scotch does not have gluten. Bourbon lovers need not worry as well. This type of liquor has no traces of gluten.

Wine

When it comes to wine, you don’t even need to go gluten free shopping for wine products. Most wines are gluten free. Champagne, the most popular of them all, is completely free of gluten. Let’s say you like Italian grappa wine. You could be thinking if this is gluten free or not. Yes, it is gluten free. And joyfully so!

Beer

Some beer products don’t use barley. They use rice, corn, and buckwheat instead. Some others use sorghum in their beer products in addition to having all the aforementioned ingredients. Beer product manufacturers do label their products as gluten free. And if a beer does not have this label, it is a strong indication that it is made of barley.

According to popular forums, here are some great tasting gluten-free beers:

Did we miss any? Let us know in the comments.

Is distilled alcohol safe for people with celiac disease?

The general consensus on this is that people affected with celiac disease can drink distilled alcohol. Interestingly, they can drink alcohol that has been made using gluten grains! Distillation is a process that removes gluten molecules.

Recently, The National Institutes of Health's Celiac Disease Awareness Campaign established this fact. As per this campaign, drinking distilled alcohol was safe for people affected with celiac disease.

Prolamins – protein molecules of gluten are distilled from hard liquor products. The distillation process nullifies these protein molecules from beers made of barley or whiskies made of rye.

But there are several other health watchdogs that do not agree with this fact. They feel that people who have high gluten intolerance should completely stay away from barley or rye based alcohol products. Instead, it has been recommended that people with celiac disease try potato-based liquor products. Many rum, vodka, and tequila product manufacturers use potato as the core ingredient in their alcohol products.

Tips to choose gluten free alcoholic beverages

Start by researching on beer product manufacturers that make gluten free beer products. They use alternatives such as corn and buckwheat to name a few. Don’t buy a product without reviewing the packaging details.

Join the Gluten Intolerance Group. Visit their website. You can find loads of information on gluten free restaurants, foods and beers. You may even visit their seminars to understand a lot of things about being gluten free.

Liquor manufacturers follow a rigorous distillation process that removes all traces of gluten peptides. Most distilled hard liquors are gluten free. However it is still not sure if some distilled whiskey brands are gluten free.

You have to understand if non-alcoholic mixes are gluten free as well. When you compliment your vodka with a non-alcoholic mix, you have to understand if this is gluten free. Check the labels on these mixes. See if you find a gluten free label on the packaging. Stick to non-alcoholic mixes that have traditionally been gluten free. Ask people around you to help you with more information.

Wine is totally gluten free, because the core constituent of wine is grapes. And grapes have no gluten in them. In some rare cases, wine can have gluten. This depends on where the wine manufacturers store the wine. If it was stored in a container that previously stored gluten-containing products, then the wine may pick up some gluten traces.

It is not possible to determine the type of containment process wine manufacturers have. But you can surely read about how they make, store, and distribute wine. Some wine manufacturers provide this information as part of the product literature.

Benefits of a gluten free lifestyle

Going gluten free is more than just a trend. You see so many celebrities going on a gluten free lifestyle, even if they don’t have celiac disease. The following are some of the benefits of a gluten free lifestyle.

You feel more energetic and feel better

Probably it’s just perception or a matter of subjective preference. Many people felt better after going gluten free. Could it because of the gluten free foods or the non-presence of gluten?

You cut out junk food

Some gluten free foods can be junk foods. But most gluten free foods can be organic as well. So by going the gluten free way you can eat more healthy food. You get a variety of gluten free foods that are nutritious.

You can still eat out

There are many fast food chains and restaurants that serve gluten free food. You can get information about such places to eat on the Internet. You may also contact your local telephone index to get more information. The Gluten Intolerance Group provides more information on such hotels and restaurants. Visit their website to know more.

Conclusion

Going gluten free does have its benefits. But not all gluten free foods and alcoholic beverages are good for health. For best results, consult a qualified nutritionist or a dietician to know more.

 

 

 

 

 

15 Comments
  1. John
    January 31, 2013 at 23:11
    Reply

    The best gluten-free beer out there is actually Omission Pale Ale. It's relatively new but I've seen it available in CA, OR, and FL, among others.

    • admin
      February 3, 2013 at 21:36
      Reply

      Thank you John we will add Omission to our list.

    • May 22, 2013 at 01:01
      Reply

      Fyi. Another gluten beer is red bridge. Passing along some more options Omission is also located in mass Kelley

      • admin
        May 22, 2013 at 18:48
        Reply

        Thank you Kelley we will add it to the list.

    • Robert
      February 27, 2014 at 20:42
      Reply

      I agree, Omission is a good gluten-free beer. Cheesie Bob's Bleu cheese House, located in King Wi. also has it along with other gluten_free beers.

  2. Gluten Free Beer Lover
    February 13, 2013 at 03:44
    Reply

    I thought Omission (pale ale and the lager) were pretty good, but personally I like Greens a little bit more and of course Estrella Damm by Duara. Like Omission, Estrella is a reduced gluten-free beer, meaning it contains 20 ppm or less of gluten and can be labeled as gluten-free. What's great about gluten reduced beers is that they still contain traditional ingredients such as barely. Its the process they go through which eliminates the gluten and preserving those flavors we love in beer.

  3. ed
    April 26, 2013 at 01:36
    Reply

    •Armagnac - made from grapes. •Beer - A number of premium and craft brewers now produce specialty grain gluten-free beers using non-gluten ingredients such as buckwheat, sorghum, rice, corn, etc. Not all the beers listed below use specialty grains, and some of them have had the gluten removed using special filters and/or enzymes, and in such cases they may not be 100% gluten-free (although each claims to test below 20 PPM gluten). ◦Against the Grain, World Top Brewery (United Kingdom) ◦Bards Tale Dragons Gold, Bard's Tale Beer Company (USA) ◦BeerUp Glutenfrei, Grieskirchen (Austria) ◦Birra 76 Bi-Aglut, Heineken Italy (Italy) ◦Blonde (also Ginger and Apple Beers), Billabong Brewing (Australia) ◦Daura, Estrella Damm (Spain) ◦G-Free, St. Peter's Brewery (United Kingdom) ◦Green's Endeavour Dubble, Green's (United Kingdom) ◦Koff I, Sinebrychoff (Finland) ◦Lammsbräu, Neumarkter (Germany) ◦Messagère, Les bières de la Nouvelle-France (Canada) ◦Mongozo's exotic flavorded pilsners (The Netherlands) ◦New Grist, Lakefront Brewery (USA) ◦Nodogoshi, Kirin (Japan) ◦O'Brien Brown Ale, O'Brien Brewery (Australia) ◦Passover Honey Beer, Ramapo Valley (USA) ◦RedBridge, Anheuser-Busch (USA) ◦Residenz Bio-Reis-Gold Dunkel, Liebharts (Germany) ◦Schnitzer Bräu (Germany) ◦Sorghum Molasses Brown, Outer Banks (USA) ◦Toleration, Hambleton (United Kingdom) ◦Tread Lightly Ale and 3R Raspberry Ale, New Planet (USA) ◦Tumma Kukko, Laitilan (Finland) •Bourbon - Makers Mark •Brandy •Champagne •Cider - fermented from apples or other fruits. Some are safe, however, many add barley for enzymes and flavor. ◦Old Deadly Cider •Cognac - made from grapes. •Gin •Grappa •Kahlua •Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur) •Margarita Mix: ◦Jose Cuervo. ◦Mr. & Mrs. T. •Martini: ◦Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape). ◦Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape). •Mead - distilled from honey. •Mistico: ◦Jose Cuervo Mistico (agave and cane). •Mixes & Cooking Alcohol: ◦Club Tom Collins (corn). ◦Dimond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery. ◦Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes. ◦Mr. & Mrs. T - all Except Bloody Mary Mix. ◦Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White. •Ouzo - made from grapes and anise. •Rum •Sake - fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs. •Scotch Whiskey •Sherry •Sparkling Wine •Tequila •Vermouth - distilled from grapes. •Vodka •Wine - all wines, including port wines and sherry, are safe for celiacs. •Wine Coolers: ◦Bartle & James - their wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages - read the label carefully!). ◦Boones - their wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages - read the label carefully!)

    • Chris
      September 12, 2013 at 01:55
      Reply

      Hi all, we have recently discovered that there is actually gluten containing substances introduced into the wine making process by many wine makers. Oak barrels that the wine is aged in are often sealed with a paste that contains gluten, and in other cases there is a gluten product used to fine the wine as well! So if you seem to have a reaction to wine, this could be why. Don't assume wine is GF if you are really sensitive.

  4. Jesus Pase
    April 26, 2013 at 23:14
    Reply

    Gluten is the composite of a gliadin and a glutenin, which is conjoined with starch in the endosperm of various grass-related grains. The prolamin and glutelin from wheat (gliadin, which is alcohol-soluble, and glutenin, which is only soluble in dilute acids or alkalis) constitute about 80% of the protein contained in wheat fruit. Being insoluble in water, they can be purified by washing away the associated starch. Worldwide, gluten is a source of protein, both in foods prepared directly from sources containing it, and as an additive to foods otherwise low in protein.

  5. Jennafer
    October 3, 2013 at 01:12
    Reply

    Angry Orchard hard ciders are also gluten free

  6. Dave Holmes
    November 8, 2013 at 01:17
    Reply

    Check out this new gluten free alcoholic beverage -- low carb, 100% gluten free with a crisp refreshing citrus taste.. and 6% alcohol. Essentially, half the sugar of Bud Light with higher ABV%. Spiked Seltzer

  7. December 20, 2013 at 19:05
    Reply

    Eliminating all alcohol except Red Wine has been the best choice for me to live a gluten free lifestyle. This removes the stress for me. Your suggestion to look at all labels prior is very good advice. Thanks for your detailed list, it is appreciated. Best Regards, Wendy

  8. Lesley
    January 17, 2014 at 07:24
    Reply

    Be careful with these blanket statements. Some whiskey barrels are sealed with wheat paste. Rendering their contents very glutenous.

  9. Sue Batzer
    January 17, 2014 at 22:09
    Reply

    If you're lucky enough to live in Illinois, you can get Two Brothers Prairie Path, crafted to eliminate gluten. I drank it BEFORE I was forced to go gluten-free because it's great tasting beer. Now I'm thrilled to have SOMETHING that tastes like the great beers I used to be able to drink. Estrella Dam Daura is also good tasting, more like a European style beer, and the Omissions (IPA, & pale ale) referred to above also taste like the real thing, not like a funny tasting (sorghum) or citrusy tasting carbonated beverage.

  10. Ben
    March 12, 2014 at 08:46
    Reply

    Crabbies Ginger beer is gluten free as are ciders, not sure if they were mentioned earlier.

Leave a Comment

Want a FREE Sample of Little Soya?

After sending us your name and email you will be redirected to receive your free sample. Restaurant/Food-service owners please message us directly.

  • Gluten-Free
  • Low Sodium
  • Amazing Taste